Burkina Faso


Burkina Faso Was formerly known as The Upper Volta. President Thomas Sankara re-named it Burkina Faso which means the house of people of integrity in both Moore and Dioula, the two main local languages. A land locked country, Burkina is bordered by Ivory Coast to the southwest, Benin to the Southeast, Niger to the east, and Togo and Ghana to the south and Mali to the north. The population of the country is 16 000 000. Burkinabe is what the people of Burkina Faso are called. They are said to have populated the area between 14 000 and 5 000 BC in the northwestern region of the country. In 1896, Burkina Faso became a French protectorate. In 1960, the country gained independence. There are 69 languages in Burkina Faso. One of them is said not to have mother-tongue speakers

5 newly added works in Burkina Faso