Guinea was formerly known as French Guinea and today it is sometimes called Guinea Conakry so that it is not mixed up with its northerly neighbour Guinea-Bissau. Guinea has 25 languages. Conakry is the capital of Guinea. Other cities include: Nzérékoré, Labe Kindia, Mamou, Kankan Boke, and Guéckédou. Guinea is in West Africa. It has a population of 10 million people. Guinea is only 246,000 kilometers squared. It forms a crescent by curving from its western border the Atlantic Ocean to the east and the south. Guinea Bissau, Senegal and Mali lie to her north. To the south are Sierra Leone, Liberia, and Côte d'Ivoire. The mouth of the Niger River is in Guinea. The literacy rate of Guinea is very low being 18.1% for females and 29% for males. Many children in Guinea do not go to school at all although Primary School is compulsory for 8 years. Some start very late and drop out fast. Girls are kept at home to assist with domestic work and farm labour.French was the only language used in business and schools. It is understood by 21% to 25%.

5 newly added works in Guinea

People in Guinea speak: