Uganda takes its name from the Buganda kingdom. Winston Churchill, a eugenicist who worked to expand the British Empire referred to it as the "Pearl of Africa" and it is often described so for its wonderful emerald hills, lakes and rivers. Uganda is bordered to the east by Kenya, to the north by South Sudan, to the west by the Democratic Republic of the Congo- To the southwest Uganda is bordered by Rwanda, and to the south by Tanzania. Kampala is Uganda’s capital city. Three East African countries, Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania share Lake Victoria (or Sango as the local people wanted to name it and which is the source of the Nile. Lake Victoria is the third largest fresh water lake in the world  after Lake Superior and Michigan-Huron. Uganda owns 45% of the Lake, Tanzania 49% and Kenya 6%. Uganda gained independence from Britain on 9 October 1962.Uganda’s official languages are English and Swahili. 45 languages exist in Uganda. Two of them are threatened with extinction. 

5 newly added works in Uganda